PNR Status

PNR is an acronym for “Passenger Name Record”. It’s a 10 digit number allotted to each person who books tickets from IRCTC web portal or few permitted OTA’s or they are booked offline through PRS (Passenger Reservation System). PNR number when combined with journey date can uniquely indentify an Indian Railway trip. PNR is the database of a Computer Reservation System (CRS) that contains the itinerary details for a person or a group of persons travelling in train. The concept was first introduced by airlines that needed to exchange reservation information in case passengers required flights of multiple airlines to reach their destination.

When a reserved railway ticket is booked for a train in Indian Railways, all the details of passengers are stored in relational database of centralized reservation system. These details are associated with a unique ten digit number. This reference number is called PNR and it is printed on the ticket. Passenger’s personal information like name, age, gender etc. is saved in the database against this reference number. It includes columns to store booking status and current status of the ticket.

Where to Find PNR number on a ticket?

Two scenarios come in here:

  • In case of the E – Ticket (tickets that are booked online or through IRCTC website), it is mentioned at top in separate cell.
  • PNR number is generally printed at the top left corner of the printed tickets (tickets that are taken from railway station booking window).

How to check PNR status?

Among the multiple options available for one to check the PNR status, here are some one can try out:

  • PNR status enquiry through online websites.
  • Current reservation status check using SMS at 139 (PNR Space <PNR Number> and send it to 139) or ( PNR Space <PNR Number> and send it to 5676747)
  • Mobile applications (NTES)
  • Railway enquiry counters at railway station
  • Final reservation charts (made live 1 hour before the train departure.
  • IVR chat over 139.

One can check PNR over other portals such as Railrestro, Checking PNR status well in advance helps passengers to be acquainted with their current status on berth while travelling in trains. Passengers in the waiting lists are very active to check their PNR status now and then. Here are some newly defined W/L quotas in long journey trains like:

  • GNWL (General Waiting List): Likelihood of confirmation is on high priority.
  • CKWL (Tatkal Waiting List): These are preferred after all GNWL lists have a confirmed berth status.
  • RLWL (Remote Location Waiting List)
  • RQWL (Request Waiting List)
  • PQWL (Pooled Quota Waiting List)
  • RLGN (Remote Location General Waiting List)
  • RSWL (Roadside station waiting list).

Check your PNR status on the go by just entering your 10 digit PNR number and get your berth status live today. Happy Travelling!!

Recent Posts

Author: Amit Roy

Amit is a Digital Marketing & Alliance Strategist at Railrestro. He is a jack-of-all-trades kinda person in the world of Internet marketing, excelling in market research to come up with a strategy based on the