Food Delivery in GITANJALI EXP

Restaurant meals delivered in train at your seat.

Enter Train No./ Name
Enter Train and Boarding Date
Authorised RailRestro eCatering IRCTC partner

Get Food in Train with easy steps

Order Delicious food in Train from FSSAI approved restaurants across 400+ stations in India.

How to order food in Train

Offers for You

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 by verified customers who ordered food in Train from Railrestro

Read all Reviews...


Gitanjali Express (12859): Train Route, Classes and Food Options

  • Geetanjali Express (12859) – Runs between Mumbai to Howrah
  • Source Station – Mumbai CST (CSTM)
  • Destination–  Howrah Junction railway station ( HWH)
  • Running Days – Every day
  • Coach Classes- 2A, 3A, sleeper, General unreserved coach 
  • Fare – 2A - 2800, 3A- 1900 , sleeper – INR 700, General – INR 400
  • Departure Time – 15:00  Hrs (SHM)
  • Arrival Time –  04:50 Hrs (LTT)
  • Stops –   25  halts en route
  • Pantry Car – Available
  • Journey Duration –  31 hours (Approx.)
  • Running status – On time
  • Journey Distance – 1968 Kilometers

Gitanjali Express: Train Overview 
Geetanjali Express (12859) is the most preferred train plying from Mumbai to Howrah among the passengers. The train has been in service for more than 40 years of its inducement in Indian Railways. The train is named after the great creation of “Geetanjali” the prayer poetry collection of Guru Ravindra Nath Tagore renowned on international level for his art of writing, painting and arts.  This train takes almost 31 hours from Kolkata to reach Mumbai. The train is equipped with all the onboard facilities for the passenger's ease. The train houses 2nd AC tier, 3rd AC tier and Sleeper coaches along with pantry car and unreserved coaches. Passengers can order food online in Geetanjali express via RailRestro and get it delivered on their seat.  The train stops at almost 25 railway halts and takes minimum time to reach Howrah from Mumbai. The train is highly preferred by the passengers to commute from Mumbai to Kolkata. It’s always advised to book the tickets in this train well in advance especially during the time of Durga pooja festival. 

Train Route of  Geetanjali Express 12859:
Geetanjali Express departs the railway station early in the morning by 06:00 Hrs from Chhatrapati Shivaji railway terminus. The train starts its journey from Mumbai CST on the first day and reaches at Howrah junction at 12:30 on next day completing the journey of 1968 kilometers from source to destination. The train halts at different railway stations and passes through almost 5 states of India, giving opportunities to the passengers to glance through the landscapes of Indian natural beauty from window view. This train is known for its punctuality and speed. This superfast train is regarded as one of the most trusted trains in term of reaching at the destination on the scheduled time.  There is a pantry car attached with the train still if you wish you to order food in train from regional restaurants serving fresh and tasty food items in the train, then food ordering app of RailRestro is there for you to order food online.

Day 1:
Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus is the source station from where it originates every day by 06:00 hrs in the morning. After departing the station premises of CST the train halts at Dadar railway junction after completing nine minutes of journey from source station.  Kalyan junction is the next railway halt where the train halts about 06:52 and stops for 3 minutes. Itagpuri is another railway halt coming en route. After Nagpur, The train halts at Nasik Road railway station by 09:28 and stops for 2 minutes.

After crossing Jalgaon railway station, the train takes its first long-duration halt at Bhusawal junction by 12:35 and then departs the station premises by 12:50 Hrs completing 15 minutes of the stoppage at this station. Malkapur and Shegaon are the small railway halts come en route where the train halts for 1 minute each. Passengers can order food online in train at Kalyan Junction and enjoy your food at your seat.  The train reaches Akola junction and then Badnera junction and halts for five minutes at both of the stations. Wardha railway station is the next railway station where train halts for three minutes and moves towards Nagpur city.

After approaching Nagpur railway station by 18:55 Hrs and halts for 10 minutes. This is the perfect time to have dinner for your overnight journey. You can order food in train at Nagpur junction to avail restaurant food in train from Railrestro, IRCTC authorized e-catering partner serving food in train. When the train departs the railway station of Nagpur by 19:05 Hrs then it keeps moving towards its destination by halting at Bhandara junction, Gondia junction, and Raj Nandgaon railway stations coming en route. The train stops at Durg Junction railway station 22:45 and then halts next at Raipur junction by 23:25 Hrs.

Day 2:
Bilaspur railway junction is the first halting station on the second day of journey. Here the train halts for 15 minutes and departs the station premises by 01:30 Hrs. Raigarh, jharsaguda junction and  Rourkela junction are the major railway halts of the train during its overnight journey.  After completing the overnight journey, Geetanjali Express reaches at Chakradharpur junction by 7:10 Hrs in the morning of the second day of journey. The train now halts at Tatanagar Junction by 08:20 Hrs and stops for 10 minutes. Many passengers deboard the train at this railway station. After Tatanagar, the train enters in the state of West Bengal and makes its first halt at Kharagpur railway junction by 10:20 Hrs. After completing its five minutes of halt, the train moves towards Santragachi Railway station where it halts by 11:51 for two minutes only. Many of the passengers de-board the train at Santragachi railway station to avoid the rush and heavy traffic at Howrah Junction. The next station is the Howrah Junction where train hits by 12:30 Hrs and terminates at this station.